Would you leave your partner if they suffered from Alzheimer’s?

Click Here to Listen

http://www.theniallboylanshow.com/podcasts/partner-alzheimers-divorce-illness-boylan-4fm-podcast/

Would you leave your partner if they suffered from Alzheimer’s?

I want you to have a listen to this email and tell me what you think of it.

Hi Niall,

I have quite a situation on my hands and I know you can discuss stuff like this on your show. Here is my story. I am a 66 year old fit and healthy man. I have two daughters who are 27 and 25.

I am married but for the past two years my wife has been quite ill. She is 65 years old and has Alzheimer’s. I have been looking after her but it is very difficult lately as she has no idea who I am.

My 27 year old daughter has been a great help to me and I honestly couldn’t have done this without her but lately we have talked about putting my wife into full time care as it is getting even more difficult.

I also met a woman recently who has become quite a good friend to me. I sat down with my daughter and told her that her mother and my wife was not the same person anymore and that I was beginning to feel very lonely. I told her about my female friend and that we like to go out on lunch dates.

She did not take it too well. She said I was completely selfish and just because her mother is sick does not give me the right to go out with other women.

I tried to explain to her that her mother was never really coming back and that I needed to live my life too but she does not see it my way.

I am so upset by the whole thing as I don’t want to fall out with my daughter but I do want to have a life for myself and not be so lonely.

The reason I am emailing you is because I am torn as to what I should do now – should I sacrifice any happiness I may have with my new friend for my daughter’s feelings?

Or should I consider seeing this friend and hope my daughter comes around?

Am I being selfish in wanting to have a life again? Is my daughter right?

Please discuss this – I won’t come on the show though.

What do you think of this man’s email?

Do you think he is selfish for wanting to see another woman?

He said that his wife doesn’t know who he is. Is it fair to expect the husband to wait around?

The vows do say in sickness or in health.

Maybe you think he is right to get his life back. Or maybe you agree with his daughter and think it’s completely selfish.

I want to know what you think –

So, is this husband being selfish in wanting to see another woman?

Remember you can find more stories on the Niall Boylan Facebook and Twitter pages and remember 

Late Night Talk Radio

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

